Excerpts from Berlioz’s correspondence

Introduction

This page reproduces in translation excerpts from Berlioz’s correspondence (hereafter CG = Correspondance Générale) which relate to the serialisation of fragments of his Memoirs in the weekly le Monde Illustré between September 1858 and September 1859 . Berlioz had not intended at first to publish his Memoirs in his lifetime (CG no. 2186). As he frankly admits, it was the need for money, to pay for the education of his son, that persuaded him to accept the offer of the editor of le Monde Illustré (CG no. 2291) to publish those fragments that concerned his musical career (CG nos. 2334, 2348). On the other hand he strenuously resisted offers from the editor to sell the entire work, which was reserved for posthumous publication (CG nos. 2325, 2332, 2348). He was aware of the dangers of allowing personal material to be published in his lifetime and anticipated possible criticism (CG no. 2348). At the same time he was evidently pleased with the interest aroused by the publication (CG nos. 2325, 2341, 2345, 2368) and was anxious that his relatives and closest friends be kept informed (his sister Adèle: CG nos. 2325, 2345, 2348; Adolphe Samuel: CG nos. 2186, 2341; Georges Kastner: CG no. 2316; Humbert Ferrand: CG nos. 2327, 2332, 2334, 2368; Princess Sayn-Wittgenstein: CG no. 2351). He received numerous letters prompted by the publication (CG no. 2368), though of these only two have survived (CG nos. 2330, 2367bis); their text is not reproduced here.

This page is also available in French

Excerpts from the correspondence

To Eugène de Mirecourt (CG no. 2134; early June 1856):

[…] Please let me know when I can come and collect my Memoirs and have a few moments to talk to you.
I would be very pleased if the volume in your series which concerns me could appear in the near future; I have applied for the vacant seat at the Institut and this occasion would confer on your publication an altogether exceptional importance for me. […]

[Cf. Mémoires, Post-Scriptum, which is addressed to Eugène de Mirecourt though he is not named]

To Adolphe Samuel (CG no. 2186; 25 November 1856):

[…] The Biography you mention [by Eugène de Mirecourt, cf. CG no. 2134 above] is very sympathetic but marred by rather serious errors, inventions on the part of the author, and truths turned into falsehoods by the narrative detail. It seems to be impossible to write anything accurate about anybody’s life. The three volumes of Memoirs that I have completed seem to me to be true in every respect; but it is an autobiography and I will not publish them. […]

To Jules Lecomte, publisher of the Monde Illustré (CG no. 2291; between May and September 1858):

Sir,
You kindly ask me for details on my musical life, details of a more special, or even more personal, kind than the fragment you introduced a few months ago in the Monde Illustré. In 1848 in London I began writing a work which is now completed, which records the innumberable changes in the stormy atmosphere I have lived in until now. It is, to use a nautical metaphor, the log book of my painful journey.
I am sending you the fragments which relate more or less directly to my career as an artist. The rest contains painful episodes relating to feelings of the narrator that are too intimate for them to be suitable for publication today. Thus truncated my narrative will be reticent on many points and will contain numerous gaps. Will your readers be prepared to excuse them?.. I find it hard to believe.
    « Sed si tantus amor casus cognoscere nostros
    « Incipiam
[Virgil, Aeneid II.10]. […]

[Berlioz is referring here to the article he published in le Monde Illustré on 13 February 1858. The first paragraph of this letter was reproduced in le Monde Illustré of 18 September 1858; the second paragraph was omitted there, but added by the publisher as a preface, though in an abridged paraphrase, to the first instalment of the Mémoires d’un musicien on 25 September]

To Georges Kastner (CG no. 2316; 28 September 1858):

[…] The Monde Illustré started publishing yesterday the fragments from my Memoirs. […] Have a look at this; there are things that will interest you. I have been working for the last ten years on polishing the style. It is almost French. […]

To his sister Adèle (CG no. 2325; 22 October 1858):

[…] I am publishing in the Monde Illustré some fragments of my Memoirs. They are having a lot of success; the publisher and printer of this journal wanted to buy from me the whole work to publish it in book form. I obstinately refused. You do not doubt the good reasons I have for persisting in this refusal*. […]
(*) This and everything concerning the Memoirs is always between the two of us. Do not mention it in your letters.

To Humbert Ferrand (CG no. 2327; 3 November 1858):

[…] The Monde Illustré is publishing fragments from my Memoirs, where you are often mentioned. Do you happen to have seen this? […]

Achille Paganini to Berlioz (CG no. 2330; 3 November 1858)

[Achille Paganini is asking Berlioz to set the record straight, in the serialisation of his Memoirs, on his father’s gift to Berlioz in 1838]

To Humbert Ferrand (CG no. 2332; 8 November 1858):

[…] I will be going to the office of the Monde Illustré to have sent to you the issues of the paper which contain the first fragments of my Memoirs; you will receive subsequently the others as they appear. Although I have suppressed the most painful episodes (they will only be known if my son wishes later to publish the whole work as a book), I fear this account will sadden you. But perhaps you would welcome being saddened in this way […]

To Humbert Ferrand (CG no. 2334; 19 November 1858):

[…] I have not published anything about the period you are reminding me of; but I am not writing up my memoirs any more; all this was written between 1848 and 1850, and I am only publishing fragments from it to have a little money for the forthcoming studies that my son will have to pursue in a maritime port, on his return from the Indies. Auri pia fames!
You will see very soon the story of the Francs-Juges in the
Monde Illustré; I could not forget that. […]

To Adolphe Samuel (CG no. 2341; 1 January 1859):

[…] Do you read the Monde Illustré? For the last two months I have been publishing in this paper fragments from my Memoirs which are causing quite a stir here. […]

To Adèle (CG no. 2345; 10 January 1859):

[…] My Memoirs (or those parts of them that I am publishing in the Monde Illustré) are having more and more success, and are being much talked about. […]

To Adèle (CG no. 2348; 23 January 1859):

[…] It is again this reason [i.e. the need for money] which made me yield to the entreaties of the publisher of the Monde Illustré for the publication of the fragments of my Memoirs. I anticipate having expenses for Louis when he is back, and a thousand francs extra income will come in very handy. But I am not taking off my clothes in public (as you say) since they only deal with my musical life and those events and incidents that relate to it. I can understand your feelings, but you are only exaggerating them.
The publisher of the Monde wanted to buy from me the complete Memoirs, to publish them in two volumes; I refused and will always refuse this publication, which Louis will have to do at a later date.
[…]

To Princess Sayn-Wittgenstein (CG no. 2351; 8 February 1859):

[…] You should have received several days ago a parcel of copies of the Monde Illustré. Following your wish I took out a subscription for you for 9 months, starting at the time when this paper began to publish the fragments from my Memoirs. There is also the issue of February [1858], which contains the story of the 1844 Festival, which I added to the parcel. It will find its proper place later on, when the thread of my narrative will have brought me to this period. Your kindness is beyond compare and indefatigable! You show interest in these truncated stories from my young days, which are now the old days!! […]

[See le Monde Illustré of 13 February 1858]

To Richard Pohl (CG no. 2355; 19 February 1859):

[…] Concerning the chapters of my Memoirs which you would like to translate I will give you the following answer: wait until everything that is to appear is out, and then identify the chapters you would like to translate, and tell me in what way you want to publish them; I will then give you my answer. […]

[This project did not materialise; cf. further CG nos. 2664, 2768]

Alcide-Joseph Lorentz to Berlioz (CG no. 2367bis [vol. VIII]; 18 April 1859):

[An admiring letter from a long-time supporter of Berlioz, prompted by the account of the first performance of the Requiem which appeared in le Monde Illustré on 9 April 1859]

To Humbert Ferrand (CG no. 2368; 28 April 1859):

[…] Forgive me, I had totally forgotten that you had not been receiving the Monde Illustré for several months. So you must have taken out a subscription, since you are still reading it?.. If not, let me know, and I will see to it that you get the numbers you do not have and receive the instalments regularly. This costs very little, do not worry. The latest issues contain the story (much watered-down) of the crime perpetrated on my by Cavé and Habeneck, on the occasion of the first performance of my Requiem. This is causing quite a stir. I frequently receive letters in prose or in verse from my unknown friends. This is a consolation. […]

The Hector Berlioz Website was created by Monir Tayeb and Michel Austin on 18 July 1997;
Page Hector Berlioz: Mémoires d’un musicien created on 15 January 2010; this page created on 15 January 2010.

© Monir Tayeb and Michel. All rights reserved.

Back to main page Hector Berlioz: Mémoires d’un musicien Le Monde Illustré 1858-1859

Back to Home Page

Extraits de la correspondance de Berlioz

Présentation

Cette page reproduit les extraits de la correspondance de Berlioz (ci-après CG = Correspondance générale) qui concernent la publication en série de fragments de ses Mémoires dans l’hebdomadaire le Monde Illustré entre septembre 1858 et septembre 1859. Berlioz n’avait pas au départ l’intention de publier ses Mémoires de son vivant (CG no. 2186). Il admet franchement que c’est par besoin d’argent, pour financer l’éducation de son fils, qu’il a décidé d’accepter l’offre de l’éditeur du Monde Illustré (CG no. 2291) de publier les fragments qui concernaient sa carrière de musicien (CG nos. 2334, 2348). D’un autre côté il repousse fermement les propositions de l’éditeur de lui vendre la totalité de l’ouvrage, qui est destiné dans sa pensée à une publication posthume (CG nos. 2325, 2332, 2348). Il est conscient des risques d’une publication de son vivant d’éléments de sa vie personnelle et semble s’attendre à l’avance à d’éventuelles critiques (CG no. 2348). Mais en même temps il est visiblement satisfait de l’intérêt que suscite la publication (CG nos. 2325, 2341, 2345, 2368) et a à cœur que ses proches et ses amis intimes soient au courant (sa sœur Adèle: CG nos. 2325, 2345, 2348; Adolphe Samuel: CG nos. 2186, 2341; Georges Kastner: CG no. 2316; Humbert Ferrand: CG nos. 2327, 2332, 2334, 2368; la princesse Sayn-Wittgenstein: CG no. 2351). Il reçoit de nombreuses lettres suscitées par la publication (CG no. 2368), mais de ces dernières deux seules ont survécu (CG nos. 2330, 2367bis); leur texte n’est pas reproduit ici.

Cette page est disponible aussi en anglais

Extraits de la correspondance

À Eugène de Mirecourt (CG no. 2134; début juin 1856):

[…] Veuillez me faire savoir quand je pourrai aller reprendre mes Mémoires et avoir quelques instants d’entretien avec vous.
Je serais bien heureux que le volume qui me concerne dans votre collection pût paraître prochainement; je me suis mis sur les rangs pour la place vacante à l’Institut et cette circonstance donnerait à votre publication une importance pour moi tout à fait exceptionnelle. […]

[Cf. Mémoires, Post-Scriptum, addressé à Eugène de Mirecourt qui n’est pas nommé]

À Adolphe Samuel (CG no. 2186; 25 novembre 1856):

[…] La Biographie dont vous me parlez [par Eugène de Mirecourt, cf. CG no. 2134 ci-dessus] est très bienveillante mais entachée d’erreurs assez graves, d’inventions de l’auteur et de choses vraies devenues fausses par les détails de la narration. Il paraît qu’il n’y a pas moyen d’écrire quelque chose d’exact sur la vie d’un homme quelconque. Les trois volumes de mémoires que j’ai achevés, me semblent vrais de tout point; mais c’est une autobiographie et je ne les publierai pas. […]

À Jules Lecomte, éditeur du Monde Illustré (CG no. 2291; entre mai et septembre 1858):

Monsieur
Vous voulez bien me demander des détails sur ma vie musicale, plus spéciaux, plus personnels même, que le fragment admis par vous il y a quelques mois dans le Monde Illustré. J’ai commencé à Londres en 1848 un ouvrage, aujourd’hui terminé, dans lequel se trouvent consignées les innombrables variations de l’atmosphère orageuse dans laquelle j’ai vécu jusqu’ici. C’est (pour employer une expression nautique) le livre le loch de mon pénible voyage.
Je vous en envoie les fragments qui se rattachent plus ou moins directement à la carrière de l’artiste. Le reste contient de douloureux épisodes relatifs à des sentiments trop intimes du narrateur pour qu’il soit convenable de les publier aujourd’hui. Mon récit ainsi tronqué contiendra donc de nombreuses réticences et des lacunes assez fréquentes. Vos lecteurs voudront-ils les excuser?.. J’ai peine à le croire.
    « Sed si tantus amor casus cognoscere nostros
    « Incipiam.
[Virgile, Énéide II.10] […]

[Berlioz fait ici allusion à l’article publié par lui dans le Monde Illustré du 13 février 1858. Le premier paragraphe de sa lettre est reproduit dans le Monde Illustré du 18 septembre 1858; le second est omis, mais ajouté par l’éditeur, en guise de préface et dans une paraphrase tronquée, en tête de la première livraison des Mémoires d’un musicien dans le numéro du 25 septembre]

À Georges Kastner (CG no. 2316; 28 septembre 1858):

[…] Le Monde Illustré a commencé hier la publication des fragments de mes Mémoires […] Voyez cela, il y a des choses qui vous intéresseront. Il y a dix ans que je travaille à en limer le style. C’est presque français… […]

À sa sœur Adèle (CG no. 2325; 22 octobre 1858):

[…] Je publie dans le Monde Illustré des fragments de mes Mémoires. Cela obtient beaucoup de succès; l’éditeur imprimeur de ce journal a voulu m’acheter l’ouvrage entier pour le publier en volumes. Je m’y suis refusé obstinément. Tu ne doutes pas des bonnes raisons que j’ai pour persister dans ce refus*. […]
(*) Ceci et tout ce qui concerne les Mémoires est toujours entre nous deux. Ne m’en parle pas dans tes lettres.

À Humbert Ferrand (CG no. 2327; 3 novembre 1858):

[…] Le Monde Illustré publie des fragments de mes Mémoires, où il est souvent question de vous. Cela vous est-il tombé sous les yeux? […]

Achille Paganini à Berlioz (CG no. 2330; 3 novembre 1858)

[Achille Paganini demande à Berlioz de profiter de la publication en série de ses Mémoires pour rétablir la vérité sur le don fait par son père à Berlioz en 1838]

À Humbert Ferrand (CG no. 2332; 8 novembre 1858):

[…] Je vais aller au bureau du Monde illustré vous faire envoyer les numéros du journal qui contiennent les premiers fragments de mes Mémoires; vous recevrez ensuite les autres au fur et à mesure qu’ils paraîtront. Bien que j’ai supprimé les plus douloureux épisodes (on ne les connaîtra que si mon fils veut plus tard publier le tout en volume), ce récit, je le crains, vous attristera. Mais peut-être aimeriez-vous être ainsi attristé… […]

À Humbert Ferrand (CG no. 2334; 19 novembre 1858):

[…] Je n’ai rien publié de ce temps que vous me rappelez; mais je n’écris plus mes souvenirs, tout cela a été rédigé de 1848 à 1850, et je n’en publie que des fragments qu’afin d’avoir un peu d’argent pour les prochaines études que mon fils devra faire dans un port de mer, à son retour des Indes. Auri pia fames!
Vous verrez très prochainement l’histoire des Francs-Juges dans le Monde illustré; je ne pouvais oublier cela. […]

À Adolphe Samuel (CG no. 2341; 1er janvier 1859):

[…] Lisez-vous le Monde illustré? Je publie depuis deux mois dans ce journal des fragments de mes Mémoires qui font du bruit ici. […]

À Adèle (CG no. 2345; 10 janvier 1859):

[…] Mes Mémoires (ou ce qu’on publie dans le Monde illustré) ont de plus en plus de succès, on en parle beaucoup. […]

À Adèle (CG no. 2348; 23 janvier 1859):

[…] C’est encore cette raison [sc. le besoin d’argent] qui m’a fait céder aux sollicitations de l’éditeur du Monde illustré pour la publication des fragments de mes Mémoires. Je prévois que j’aurai bientôt des dépenses à faire pour Louis à son retour, et un millier de francs de surplus dans mes revenus me sera fort utile. Mais je ne me déshabille pas dans la rue (comme tu dis) puisqu’il n’est question que de la vie musicale et des choses et incidents qui s’y rattachent. Je comprends bien ton sentiment, seulement tu l’exagères.
L’éditeur du Monde a voulu m’acheter les Mémoires complets, pour les publier en deux volumes; je m’y suis refusé et je me refuserai toujours à cette publication, que Louis devra faire plus tard. […]

À la princesse Sayn-Wittgenstein (CG no. 2351; 8 février 1859):

[…] Vous avez dû recevoir il y a plusieurs jours un paquet d’exemplaires du Monde illustré. Selon votre désir je vous ai abonnée pour 9 mois, à partir du moment où ce journal a commencé à publier les fragments de mes Mémoires. De plus il y a No du mois de février [1858], contenant le récit du festival de 1844, que j’ai fait joindre au paquet. Il trouvera sa place plus tard, quand le fil de ma narration m’aura conduit à cette époque. Vous êtes d’une bonté incomparable et infatigable! vous intéresser à ces récits tronqués de mon jeune temps, aujourd’hui le vieux temps!! […]

[Voir le Monde Illustré du 13 février 1858]

À Richard Pohl (CG no. 2355; 19 février 1859):

[…] Au sujet des chapitres de mes Mémoires que vous voudriez traduire je vous répondrai ceci: Attendez que tout ce qui doit paraître ait paru, alors vous me désignerez les chapitres que vous voulez traduire, et me direz de quelle façon vous voulez les publier et je vous répondrai. […]

[Le projet n’aura pas de suite; voir aussi CG nos. 2664, 2768]

Alcide-Joseph Lorentz à Berlioz (CG no. 2367bis [tome VIII]; 18 avril 1859):

[Lettre admirative d’un ami de longue date, à l’occasion de la publication dans le Monde Illustré du 9 avril 1859 du récit de la première exécution du Requiem]

À Humbert Ferrand (CG no. 2368; 28 avril 1859):

[…] J’avais totalement oublié, pardonnez-le moi, que vous ne deviez plus recevoir le Monde illustré depuis plusieurs mois. Vous avez donc pris un abonnement, puisque vous le lisez encore?.. Sinon, faites-le moi savoir, et je vous ferai envoyer les numéros qui vous manquent et régulariser les envois. C’est une misère, ne vous en préoccupez pas. Les derniers numéros contiennent (très affaibli) le récit du crime tenté sur moi par Cavé et Habeneck, lors de la première exécution de mon Requiem. Cela fait du bruit. Je reçois fréquemment des lettres en prose et en vers de mes amis inconnus. Cela me console. […]

Site Hector Berlioz créé par Michel Austin et Monir Tayeb le 18 juillet 1997;
Page Hector Berlioz: Mémoires d’un musicien Le Monde Illustré 1858-1859 créée le 15 janvier 2010; cette page créée le 15 janvier 2010.

© Michel Austin et Monir Tayeb. Tous droits réservés.

Retour à la page principale Hector Berlioz: Mémoires d’un musicien Le Monde Illustré 1858-1859

Retour à la Page d’accueil