An autograph Letter of Berlioz

1865

Introduction

This page presents the image of an autograph letter of Berlioz which was acquired by us in December 2011; appended below is also an English translation of the French text. This letter, hitherto unpublished, bears the date 12 May 1865 and is addressed to an official at the Egyptian Institute. In it Berlioz acknowledges receipt of a diploma recording his nomination as corresponding member of the Egyptian Institute. The fact of this nomination is alluded to in two letters of Berlioz to Humbert Ferrand around this time. In the first letter Berlioz writes (CG no. 3001, 26 April 1865):

[…] I have carried out your request for de Carné, and brought myself the diploma which was meant for him. Now let me know whether I must thank someone, and who, for this nomination to the Egyptian Institute; I know nothing. […]

The allusion in the second letter is even briefer (CG no. 3005, 8 May 1865):

[…] I will write rather casually to the secretary of the Egyptian Institute, whose name is as usual illegible. […]

The letter published here is clearly the letter Berlioz said he would be writing, and it helps to clarify the allusions in the two letters to Ferrand. The background is as follows. The establishment of the Egyptian Institute dated back to 1798 when it was founded by Napoleon Bonaparte in Cairo, during the French Expedition, under the title of Institut d’Égypte, on the model of the Institut de France in Paris. In 1801, after the departure of the French, the activities of  the Institut d’Égypte ceased, but were resumed in 1836 by French, German and English scholars under the name of The Egyptian Society. In 1859, the Institut Égyptien, a Western-style learned society, was founded in Alexandria by European residents, under the patronage of the Khedive of Egypt. A few years later, it approached Berlioz, and no doubt other eminent cultural figures in Europe, to serve as corresponding member. In 1880, it revised its statutes and moved to Cairo.

An 1885 copy of the constitution of the institute is available in the Bibliothèque nationale de France. According to this document, the Institute would have 50 resident members, up to 100 honorary members, and an unlimited number of corresponding members. The 1866 issue of the Institute’s Bulletin lists the name of Berlioz among its corresponding members and describes him as ‘Membre de l’Institut Impérial de France’ (p. 11). It is not known whether Berlioz maintained any further correspondence with the Institute after his appointment.

Also listed on the same page is the name ‘CARNÉ (le Vicomte Louis de), Membre de l’Académie Française’. Viscount de Carné (1804-1876) is mentioned once by Berlioz in his Memoirs (chapter 21) in connection with the beginnings of his career as music critic: Humbert Ferrand introduced Berlioz to de Carné, the founder together with Ferrand and Cazalès of a journal called the Revue Européenne, and persuaded him to become a contributor to the journal. De Carné had in fact founded another paper as well, the Correspondant, and Berlioz’s dealings with de Carné are attested by a number of letters in the years 1825 to 1832 (CG nos. 48, 114, 124, 126, 249, 257, 261). After this date Berlioz seems to have lost contact with him. De Carné pursued a diplomatic career and was also a prolific writer; in 1863 he was elected to the Institut de France, of which Berlioz had been a member since 1856. Another letter of Berlioz to Humbert Ferrand dated 8 March 1866 mentions de Carné (CG no. 3110): ‘I spoke about you the other day to de Carné at the Institut; I had not seen him for 33 years’ (this implies that when Berlioz handed over the diploma for de Carné [CG no. 3001] he did not see him in person). Humbert Ferrand’s close relations with de Carné which dated back to the 1820s, and the references in the two letters of 1865 cited above (CG nos. 3001, 3005), suggest that Ferrand was somehow involved in the approach of the Egyptian Institute to both Berlioz and de Carné, though it is not clear how.

The autograph of the letter published here was donated by us to the Berlioz Museum at La Côte Saint-André in August 2012; two other autograph letters of Berlioz, of 16 June 1832 and May 1853 respectively, have previously been donated by us to the Museum.

We would like to thank M. Antoine Troncy of the Berlioz Museum who directed us to the letters to Ferrand cited above.

The letter has since been published in Nouvelles lettres de Berlioz (2016) as no. 3009bis (p. 623), but the date of publication, December 2011, is incorrectly given as June 2015.

Berlioz’s autograph letter (Museum inventory no. 2014-01-01)

Letter 12 May 1865

English translation: 

Sir

I have received the diploma of corresponding member of the Egyptian Institute, which you did the honour of sending me. Please convey to the Institute my deep gratitude and the assurance that I am anxious to demonstrate it.

I am, sir, your devoted

Hector Berlioz

Member of the Institut de France

Bulletin de l’Institut égyptien, Number 9

The following images are courtesy of “Google Books”.

Bulletin’s title page

Bulletin title page

 

Page 11 of the Bulletin

Bulletin p. 11

 

The Hector Berlioz Website was created on 18 June 1997 by Monir Tayeb and Michel Austin; this page created on 20 December 2011, and revised on 7 September 2012.

© Monir Tayeb and Michel Austin. All rights reserved.

Back to Contemporary Performances and Articles page

Back to Home Page

UNE Lettre autographe dE Berlioz

1865

Présentation

Cette page présente l’image d’une lettre autographe de Berlioz que nous avons acquise en décembre 2011. Cette lettre, jusqu’à maintenant inédite, porte la date du 12 mai 1865; elle est adressée à un fonctionnaire de l’Institut Égyptien. Berlioz y accuse réception d’un diplôme de membre correspondant de cet Institut. Cette nomination était connue jusqu’à présent par deux allusions dans deux lettres de Berlioz à Humbert Ferrand à cette époque. Dans la première Berlioz écrit (CG no. 3001, 26 avril 1865):

[…] J’ai fait votre commission pour de Carné, j’ai porté moi-même le diplôme qui lui était destiné. Maintenant, dites-moi si il faut remercier quelqu’un et qui il faut remercier pour cette nomination à l’Institut d’Egypte; je ne sais rien. […]

L’allusion dans la seconde lettre est encore plus brève (CG no. 3005, 8 mai 1865):

[…] Je vais écrire un peu au hasard au secrétaire de l’Institut d’Egypte, dont le nom est, selon l’usage, illisible. […]

La lettre publiée sur cette page est évidemment la lettre que Berlioz annonce ici, et elle aide à faire comprendre les allusions dans les deux lettres à Ferrand. Voici ce dont il s’agit. La fondation de l’Institut Égyptien remonte à 1798; elle fut créée au Caire par Napoléon Bonaparte au cours de l’expédition française en Égypte. Elle porte alors le titre d’Institut d’Égypte suivant le modèle de l’Institut de France à Paris. En 1801, après le départ des forces françaises, l’Institut d’Égypte suspend ses activités, mais elles sont relancées en 1836 par des érudits français, allemands et anglais sous le nom de The Egyptian Society. En 1859 l’Institut Égyptien, société savante d’inspiration occidentale, est fondé à Alexandrie par des résidents européens sous le patronat du Khédive d’Égypte. Quelques années plus tard l’Institut s’adresse à Berlioz, et sans doute aussi à d’autres personnalités du monde artistique et scientifique européen, pour l’inviter à devenir membre correspondant. En 1880 ses statuts sont révisés et le siège de l’Institut est déplacé au Caire.

Un exemplaire de la constitution de l’Institut datant de 1885 est disponible à la Bibliothèque nationale de France. Selon ce document, l’Institut devait comprendre 50 membres résidents, un maximum de 100 membres honoraires, et un nombre illimité de membres correspondants. Le numéro du Bulletin de l’Institut publié en 1866 donne le nom de Berlioz dans la liste de membres correspondants, et Berlioz y est appelé ‘Membre de l’Institut Impérial de France’ (p. 11). On ne sait si Berlioz a entretenu par la suite une correspondance avec l’Institut après sa nomination.

Sur la même page on trouve le nom ‘CARNÉ (le Vicomte Louis de), Membre de l’Académie Française’. Le Vicomte de Carné (1804-1876) est mentionné une seule fois dans les Mémoires de Berlioz (chapitre 21) à propos des débuts du compositeur dans sa carrière de critique musical: Humbert Ferrand présente Berlioz à de Carné, fondateur avec Ferrand et Cazalès de la Revue Européenne, et le convainc de devenir collaborateur à ce journal. De Carné avait en fait déjà fondé aussi le Correspondant, et il est plusieurs fois question des rapports de Berlioz avec de Carné dans la correspondance du compositeur entre 1825 et 1832 (CG nos. 48, 114, 124, 126, 249, 257, 261). Après cette date Berlioz semble perdre contact avec lui. De Carné poursuit une carrière diplomatique, et écrit aussi de nombreux ouvrages d’histoire; en 1863 il est nommé Membre de l’Institut de France, dont Berlioz faisait partie depuis 1856. Une autre lettre de Berlioz à Humbert Ferrand datée du 8 mars 1866 mentionne de Carné (CG no. 3110): ‘J’ai parlé de vous l’autre jour à l’Institut avec de Carné que je n’avais pas vu depuis 33 ans’ (ceci suppose que lors de la remise du diplôme dont il est question dans CG no. 3001 Berlioz n’a pas rencontré de Carné). Les rapports étroits entretenus par Humbert Ferrand avec de Carné dès les années 1820, et les allusions dans les deux lettres de 1865 citées ci-dessus (CG nos. 3001, 3005), donnent à supposer que Ferrand était intéressé d’une façon ou une autre à la démarche de l’Institut Égyptien envers Berlioz et de Carné, mais on ne sait exactement comment.

Nous avons fait don de l’autographe publié ici au Musée Hector Berlioz à La Côte Saint-André en août 2012; nous avons fait don auparavant au Musée de deux autres lettres autographes de Berlioz, du 16 juin 1832 et de mai 1853.

Nous remercions M. Antoine Troncy du Musée Hector Berlioz qui nous a mis sur la piste des lettres à Ferrand citées ci-dessus.

La lettre a depuis été publiée dans les Nouvelles lettres de Berlioz (2016) sous le no. 3009bis (p. 623), mais la date de publication, décembre 2011, est donnée par erreur comme étant juin 2015.

Lettre autographe de Berlioz (Numéro d’inventaire au Musée 2014-01-01)

Lettre 12 mai 1865

On remarquera que Berlioz emploie l’orthographe sentimens et non sentiments.

Bulletin de l’Institut égyptien, Numéro 9

Les images ci-dessous viennent de “Google Books”.

Page de titre du Bulletin

Bulletin titre

 

Page 11 du Bulletin

Bulletin p. 11

 

Site Hector Berlioz créé le 18 juillet 1997 par Michel Austin et Monir Tayeb; cette page créée le 20 décembre 2011, et révisée le 7 septembre 2012.

© Michel Austin et Monir Tayeb. Tous droits réservés.

Retour à la page Exécutions et articles contemporains

Retour à la Page d’accueil